Hannage Brook Medical Centre

Hannage Way,



Rated 4.4/5 by 7 people

Leave your own feedback

3 weeks ago

Really prompt attention when needed. Good follow up to check improvement is ongoing. Good monitoring and advice with my mum who is 94, particularly when she had a fall just before Christmas.

Plus good care of her feet and a regular well woman checks to make sure she is OK. Appointments are swiftly seen to and there is little waiting once you have arrived. Sometimes appointments are a little difficult to get but when the case is urgent that is not so.

We were really pleased to be able to get travel inoculations here too. We are really lucky to have such a well run and efficient Health Centre in our town.

3 weeks ago

Over 3 decades I have received excellent care from Hannage Brook Health Centre Wirksworth. It’s recent award for excellence was totally justified. The doctors, nursing staff, managerial staff and receptionists all do a great job. I have a mother and mother-in- law both in their mid 90’s who also enjoy excellent service from Hannage Brook. You always feel that whatever problem you arrive with, someone will set the ball in motion to help you. It is also very convenient having the pharmacy on sight.

3 weeks ago

The accessibility of the doctors is fantastic and the team are very professional at all times. The support and advice is always sound whilst we may not always agree that we don’t actually require medication for our ailments.
Thanks for your help with all my family and ideally we don’t want to have to enjoy your excellent service as we want good health naturally!

3 weeks ago

I have found that it is easy to get a prompt appointment and the staff try their best to give you a choice.
The new advanced practitioners are an asset to the centre and ease up the GPS.
I am impressed by the ongoing focus on developing community services beyond the medical centre which will support those with longer term mental health and other needs.
All the staff at the centre do their best and are happy to learn from any errors. This is a really wonderful health centre.

4 weeks ago

In the 25 years that I have been using Hannage Brook I have always received excellent service. The GP’s have been conscientious and thorough, but also very kind and supportive. The practice itself has changed a lot, in that nowadays there seem to be more ‘specialist support nurses’, such as diabetes nurses. This takes the load off GP’s, but nonetheless I see the practice becoming increasingly overloaded. It takes longer to get an appointment.

11 months ago

The GPs are wonderful; getting to see one is the most tricky part.
The health centre introduced a new phone system and also a new approach by the reception staff.
I requested an appointment for a medication review with my usual doctor who was not available on the automated system. I spoke to the receptionist and manged to secure an appointment with about 10 days wait which was fine as not urgent and I would see my brill GP; on arrival I had been allocated a male GP and didn’t realise until I entered the room. I wanted to discuss something personal but didn’t. So I went through the usual motions and was asked to return in 3 weeks. I asked to make an appointment with my usual GP but was told I’d have to phone in.
I’ve not bothered. I need to have a referral and some tests but this is simply a such a long process of explanation to the receptionist and then obviously no idea who I get to see that I will leave it. This used to be a really accessible service.


Hannage Brook Medical Centre responded:

We are sorry that you feel the service we offer is not as it used to be. Unfortunately, your preferred GP is currently absent due to sickness and we do not currently know when she will be back. In the meantime, we have other GPs who have full access to your records and who could deal with your medical needs and the referral so would encourage you to contact us. We are sorry that you were not informed that the clinician you were seeing had been changed as usually, we would prevent self check-in and inform the patient at the reception desk and also ring patients in advance to pre-warn them, especially when changing from a female to a male GP. We do not know the date of the appointment or the patient's name to be able to check what happened on this occasion.

1 year ago

Have been supporting my Mum. The service has been excellent. Getting a double appointment has been mostly about a week

Rate and review this service

Our Privacy Statement sets out the data processing practices carried out by Healthwatch Derbyshire

Your name and email address and other identifying information will not be published. Required fields are marked in pink

© Healthwatch Derbyshire 2019

WordPress website built by Jason King